krotskinny.blogg.se

What do i do with my dna matches
What do i do with my dna matches












what do i do with my dna matches what do i do with my dna matches what do i do with my dna matches

But was it possible that the father could be related to his mother? And did he REALLY want to know if this was the case? Because once someone goes down that path, they can’t UNknow it.Įtienne’s next step was to transfer his DNA to GEDmatch-something I rarely recommend, but this is a special situation. I hated to ask Etienne, because it’s such a sensitive question. Why no DNA matches on my father’s side? 1. Here are the possibilities, and how they worked for him. There are a few possible scenarios here, and I worked through each of them with Etienne before we settled on his answer. So: Is there something I'm doing wrong? Why would my mother's DNA seemingly be so powerful as to snuff out my father's entire family tree?” nearly every single one of my matches is on my mother's side! On AncestryDNA, I scrolled through the 1,000+ matches with more than 40cm in common and *every single one of them* is listed as ‘Mother's Side.’ On 23andMe, of my 1,441 matches, 1,437 of them are listed as ‘Mother's Side.’ The lonely four matches who are ‘Not Mother's Side’ are all quite distant (0.32% shared, 0.19%, 0.18%, and 0.12%). The ‘mother's side’ matches on 23andMe even include my half-sister - who I obviously know is on my father's side! I'm at the point of trying to label my matches to differentiate those on my mom's side vs. A few years ago, I discovered my half-sister (born one month after I was! our dad was busy in 1975) on 23andMe. I'm trying to identify my father my mother had me young and has two potential ‘nominees.’ I've taken the 23andMe and AncestryDNA tests, and my mother has also done both. “Hi there! I recently purchased a copy of your book, and it's great! Can I ask one question that has flummoxed me? Recently I got a VERY GOOD question from a man I’ll call Etienne: Here are four reasons you may be missing matches you expect to see. Why don’t you have any DNA matches on your father’s side? Or maybe it’s your mother’s side without matches.














What do i do with my dna matches